Advisory Board

In the 2018-2019 year, the Dream Project established an Advisory Board to help expand its vital mission of helping immigrant youth in Virginia achieve their highest academic potential.

Unlike our Board of Directors, the Advisory Board is not responsible for financial or hiring decisions or for the day-to-day operations of the Dream Project. Rather, the Advisory Board is an important component of our advocacy efforts as well as our desire to expand our community partnerships and enhance our resources.

In 2018, the Dream Project granted a record 95 scholarships to immigrant and refugee students in Virginia and provided mentoring to another 40 high school students. However, the demand for these services is much greater. We are determined to help as many youth as possible in the most significant way, and the Advisory Board is invaluable to our mission.

Advisory Board members are selected based on their leadership and commitment to our students. We look to each member to assist the Dream Project in three important areas: advocacy on behalf of the Dream Project and immigrant and refugee rights at the local, state and national levels, support to the Dream Project, including counsel to the Board of Directors, and networking on behalf of the Dream Project with others who share the commitment to our mission and students.

Responsibilities of Advisory Board members include attending one annual meeting each year, attending and supporting at least one of the Dream Project’s two annual fundraising events (the Holiday Dinner Party in December or the Voices of Solidarity Concert in the spring), and providing periodic counsel and advice when called upon.

Honorable Tannia Talento
Community Leader and Activist
Former School Board Chair,
Arlington Public Schools

Luis Aguilar
Virginia State Director,
Casa De Virginia

John Andelin
Community Leader

Honorable Ricardy Anderson*
School Board Member,
Fairfax County School Board

Gaston Araoz
Regional Director,
Office of Senator Tim Kaine

Dr. Katherine Barko-Alva*
Assistant Professor of ESL/Bilingual Education, William and Mary School
of Education

David Bearinger*
Senior Director,
Grants & Global Virginia Programs,
Virginia Humanities

Victor Bentacourt-Santiago
Assistant Vice President for Global Engagement, Marymount University

Dr. Nathan Carter*
Chief Diversity, Equity, and
Inclusion Officer,
Northern Virginia Community College

Honorable Cristina Diaz-Torres* School Board Member,
Arlington Public Schools

Dr. Francisco Durán
Arlington Public Schools

Senator Adam Ebbin
Virginia Senator-30th District

Senator Barbara Favola
Virginia Senator- 31st District

Denise Ferguson
Community Leader

Anita Friedman
Director, Arlington County Department of Human Services

Magaly Galdo-Hirst*
Mason Hirst Foundation

Ginger Geoffrey
Community Leader

Dr. Mark Ginsberg*
Provost and Executive Vice President,
George Mason University

Delegate Elizabeth Guzman
31st District Representative,
Virginia House of Delegates

Rebecca Herman
Chair, Herman Family Foundation

Angela Kelley
Senior Counselor On Immigration
Department of Homeland Security

Dr. Bethany Letiecq*
Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development, George Mason University

Rita Lewis*
Community Leader

Delegate Alfonso Lopez*
49th District Representative,
Virginia House of Delegates

Cressida McKean*
Community Leader

Anya McMurray
President and COO

Tara Palacios
Director, BizLaunch
Arlington Economic Development

Honorable Dalia Palchik
Supervisor, Fairfax County
Board of Supervisors

John Porter*
Board Member,
Northern Virginia Community College

Alma Powell
Past Chair, America’s Promise Alliance

Andy Shallal*
Founder and CEO,
Busboys and Poets

Dr. Matthew Shank
President Emeritus,
Marymount University
President, Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges

Honorable Noah Simon
District Director,
Congressman Don Beyer (VA-8)

Justine Springberg
Lead EL Teacher,
Yorktown High School

Dr. Drew Stelljes
Assistant Vice President,
Student Engagement and Leadership,
The College of William & Mary

Honorable Walter Tejada
Virginia Latino Leaders Council

Kathy Tenhula
Board Chair,
The Frechette Family Foundation